Fisher students honored at Spring Awards Banquet

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Allison Kays was named MAcc Student of the Year at the Fisher School of Accounting Spring Awards Banquet held April 21 at the Hilton University of Florida Conference Center.

Kays maintained a 4.0 grade-point average at Fisher en route to attaining a bachelor’s and master’s degree in accounting through the 3/2 Program. She was also involved in the Fisher School Women in Accounting Symposium, the PricewaterhouseCoopers xTAX Case Competition, the Monster Diversity Leadership Program and SIFE Ethics Case Competition among other professional development activities. Kays, who earned the Fisher Full Fellowship at last year’s banquet, also earned the Presidential Service Award and was named to the President’s Honor Roll and the Warrington College of Business Administration Dean’s List among other accomplishments.

Other award winners were Beta Alpha Psi President Sharon Koele, who won the J. Michael Cook Student Leadership Award, FSOA Student Council Presidents Michael Poiani (Fall 2010) and Raymond Brandte (Spring 2011), who won the Ed Triplett Student Leadership Award and Dr. Jesse Boyles, who earned the J. Michael Cook Excellence in Teaching Award.

Fellowship winners were Kira Warnock (Fisher Full Fellowship), Brandy Suarez and Bradley Tarrash (Ralph W. Miller Fellowship), Lauren Bull, Jerry Dufresne, Sara Patton, Christina Sigl, Lauren Skillman, Rockwell Upchurch and Seth Walker (Lovelle Ahrano Fellowship), Daniel Bryant, Dina Horton and Haley Likens (Richard E. Darby Fellowship), Rajiv Asnani, Mary Katharine Farnell and Jeffrey Soricelli (Gerson, Preston, Robinson & Co., Fellowship), Zachary Goldstein, Abbas Jessa, Shane Joseph, Ben Kaplan, Cory Kushner, Jordan Sandy and Samantha Simon (William E. Crown, Jr., Fellowship), Michael George (Don Miller Fellowship), Andrew Stargel (Batson Siegel Fellowship), Michael Poiani (Leland M. Reiner Fellowship) and Kathleen Brennan, Michael LaBrunda, Justin McPhee, Jenell Rimland and Pierce Rukrigl (FICPA Fellowship Nominees).