Ritter named co-recipient of William F. Sharpe Award for best paper

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Joe B. Cordell Eminent Scholar Chair of Corporate Development and Strategy Dr. Jay Ritter was named the co-recipient of the William F. Sharpe Award. Dr. Ritter shares the honor with Dr. Rongbing Huang, who earned his Ph.D. in Finance at the University of Florida and is now an assistant professor of finance at Kennesaw State University (Ga.).

The Sharpe Award “recognizes researchers who, through their articles published in the Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis, have most contributed to our understanding of important areas of financial economics.”

Dr. Ritter and Dr. Huang won for their work, “Testing Theories of Capital Structure and Estimating the Speed of Adjustment.” Award recipients receive $5,000.

Dr. Ritter teaches corporate finance at the undergraduate, MBA. and Ph.D. levels. He is a leading academic authority on the market for newly issued stock. He has previously served on the faculties of the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School, the University of Michigan, the University of Illinois and was a visiting professor at the MIT Sloan School of Management.