Faculty & Research: page 54

The vital component that truly elevates the Warrington College of Business into prominence is its talented faculty. UF Warrington’s faculty are world-renowned for their difference-making, thought-provoking and leading research and are consistently recognized in their industries and academia for their work, all of which you can read about here. See the most recent news about UF Warrington’s faculty and research below.

Warrington’s Management Department ranks seventh in productivity

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – The Management Department at the Warrington College of Business Administration ranked seventh in a recent study of research productivity among major American and Canadian universities in top management journals. The study, co-sponsored by the University of Florida and Texas A&M, recorded appearances by management departments and universities that were published in eight elite management journals—Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Journal of Applied Psychology, Organization Science, Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes,

Emerson appointed Editor of American Business Law Journal

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Huber Hurst Professor of Business Law Robert Emerson was appointed Editor of the American Business Law Journal. Emerson will serve a five-year term overseeing management and publication of the Journal among other duties. In addition to serving as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal in the final year of his term, Emerson will serve on the Executive Committee of the Academy of Legal Studies in Business. The American Business Law Journal, founded in 1962, is the premier blind reviewed

Kraft named to AACSB committee to analyze management education

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Dr. John Kraft, Dean of the Warrington College of Business Administration, has been named to an AACSB International (The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) Blue Ribbon Committee designed to revise the standards of management education. The committee is comprised of 22 leading university educators from across the globe. The committee’s objective is to “evaluate the state of readiness of AACSB’s accreditation standards and processes to ensure the alignment of business practice and management education…set appropriate

Demski honored with lifetime contribution award

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Dr. Joel Demski, Frederick E. Fisher Eminent Scholar in the Fisher School of Accounting, has been awarded the 2010 Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Award by the Management Accounting Section of the American Accounting Association. This award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to management accounting education, research and practice over a sustained period of time through scholarly endeavors, teaching excellence, educational innovation and service to the Management Accounting Section. No one has been more prolific

UF MBA Director Sevilla named Chairman of GMAC Board

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Assistant Dean and Director of UF MBA Programs Alex Sevilla has been elected as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Graduate Management Admission Council. The GMAC is a non-profit organization of leading graduate business schools around the world. GMAC, which is the owner and administrator of the GMAT exam, meets the needs of business schools and students through a wide array of products, services and programs. It serves as a primary resource of research and

Lutz, Weitz earn prestigious award from Oxford University

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – JCPenney Professor of Marketing Dr. Richard Lutz and JCPenney Eminent Scholar Chair of Retail Management Dr. Barton Weitz were awarded the Best Published Paper Award (2009) by Oxford University’s Centre for Corporate Reputation. Dr. Lutz and Dr. Weitz share the award with Dr. Tillmann Wagner, a professor of marketing at WHU-Otto Beisheim School of Management in Germany. Dr. Wagner was previously a Doctoral Visiting Research Fellow at the Warrington College of Business Administration in 2004. Dr. Lutz,

Ritter named co-recipient of William F. Sharpe Award for best paper

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Joe B. Cordell Eminent Scholar Chair of Corporate Development and Strategy Dr. Jay Ritter was named the co-recipient of the William F. Sharpe Award. Dr. Ritter shares the honor with Dr. Rongbing Huang, who earned his Ph.D. in Finance at the University of Florida and is now an assistant professor of finance at Kennesaw State University (Ga.). The Sharpe Award “recognizes researchers who, through their articles published in the Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis, have most

Poe Center Director Virginia Maurer receives illustrious award

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Huber Hurst Professor of Business Law and Legal Studies Virginia Maurer was conferred the Kay Duffy Memorial Award by the Academy of Legal Studies in Business at their annual meeting in August in Richmond, Va. The award is bestowed intermittently upon individuals who have demonstrated distinguished service throughout their careers. Professor Maurer is the Director of the Elizabeth P. and William F. Poe, Sr. Center for Business Ethics, Education and Research and has been a member of

Shugan and Xie named finalists for respected marketing award

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Russell Berrie Foundation Eminent Scholar Dr. Steven Shugan and George W. and Lisa O. Etheridge Professor of International Business Dr. Jinhong Xie were named finalists for the INFORMS Society for Marketing Science Long Term Impact Award. The LTI Award is given annually to “a marketing paper published in Marketing Science, Management Science or another INFORMS journal that is viewed to have made a significant long run impact on the field of Marketing.” Dr. Shugan and Dr. Xie

Thomas elected Secretary-Treasurer of leading business academy

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Huber Hurst Fellow Dr. Robert E. Thomas was elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Academy of Legal Studies in Business (International) (ALSB) on Aug. 7 at its conference in Richmond, Va. By virtue of his election to the Executive Committee, Dr. Thomas, an Associate Professor of Business Law and Legal Studies and Chair of the Department of Management at the Warrington College of Business Administration, will serve as ALSB President in 2013. The ALSB is the premier academy for