J. Ronald Terwilliger to be inducted into Bergstrom Hall of Fame

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – J. Ronald Terwilliger, Chairman Emeritus of Trammell Crow Residential Company, will be inducted into the Kelley A. Bergstrom Center for Real Estate Studies Hall of Fame on Feb. 22 during the 2013 University of Florida Bergstrom Center Real Estate Trends & Strategies Conference at The Peabody Orlando.

Under Mr. Terwilliger’s direction as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer since 1986, Trammell Crow residential became the nation’s largest developer of multi-family housing. Trammell Crow has developed more than 225,000 multi-family units since its founding in 1977, and the company continues to develop, construct and acquire premier multi-family rental communities across the country.

“I am honored to be recognized for my work in housing, but my most important work is ahead of me,” said Mr. Terwilliger. “Since my retirement from Trammell Crow Residential I have focused my energies on working to accomplish a goal of the 1949 Housing Act—to see that every American family has a decent affordable place to live in a viable neighborhood.”

In addition to his business successes, Mr. Terwilliger is involved with numerous civic and philanthropic organizations. He is past Chairman of the Urban Land Institute where he remains a Trustee. He is Chairman Emeritus of the Wharton Real Estate Center, past Chairman of the Atlanta Neighborhood Development Partnership, and Chairman of the Board of Directors for I Have a Dream Foundation.

J. Ronald Terwilliger

J. Ronald Terwilliger

Mr. Terwilliger is the past Chairman of the international board of directors of Habitat for Humanity, is an ex officio member of the board and chairs Habitat’s $4 billion Global Capital Campaign. He is also a past Chairman of the National Association of Homebuilders Multifamily Leadership Board.

Additionally, Mr. Terwilliger serves as Chairman of Enterprise Community Partners Board of Trustees as well as Vice Chair of Enterprise Community Investments. He also serves as a Commissioner on the Bipartisan Policy Center Housing Commission.

Philanthropically, Mr. Terwilliger made a $5 million gift to establish the ULI Terwilliger Center for Workforce Housing. Similarly, a $5 million gift to the Enterprise Foundation has created the Enterprise Terwilliger Fund— targeted to create 2,000 affordable homes annually. His $100 million legacy gift to Habitat for Humanity International will help 60,000 families access improved housing conditions.

Mr. Terwilliger has been recognized with the ULI Atlanta Community Achievement Award and the ORT Award bestowed for his support and efforts to improve the world through his good deeds. He received the Hearthstone Builder Humanity Award in 2006 for his commitment to housing related charities, and in 2008 was elected to the National Association of Homebuilder’s Hall of Fame in recognition of his efforts to advance housing opportunities for all Americans.

In 2009, Mr. Terwilliger was honored by the National Housing Conference with the Person of the Year Award for his commitment and contributions to the affordable housing community. In addition, he was honored in 2009 by the United States Naval Academy as a Distinguished Graduate for his lifetime commitment to service, personal character and distinguished contributions to our nation. In 2012, Mr. Terwilliger was honored with the National Patriotism Award by the National Foundation of Patriotism.

Mr. Terwilliger is an honor graduate of the United States Naval Academy. After serving five years in the Navy, he received his MBA degree with High Distinction from the Harvard Graduate School of Business where he was elected a Baker Scholar.

Mr. Terwilliger will be the Center’s 10th inductee, joining Kelley A. Bergstrom (President of Bergstrom Investment Management), Maury Carter (Founder, Maury L. Carter & Associates Inc.), Armando Codina (Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Codina Partners), James H. Pugh, Jr., (Owner and Chairman of Epoch Properties Inc.), Mel Sembler (Founder and Chairman of The Sembler Company), James Seneff (Chairman of the Board and CEO of CNL Financial Group Inc.), Halbert Smith (Professor Emeritus of the University of Florida), Martin “Hap” Stein (Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Regency Centers) and Terry Stiles (Chairman and CEO of Stiles Corporation). The Bergstrom Center Hall of Fame was established in 2008 to honor leaders whose lifetime of service has shaped the real estate industry for the better. Deserving nominees are considered each year by the Executive Committee of the Center’s Real Estate Advisory Board and inductees are honored at the Real Estate Trends & Strategies Conference, held each spring in Orlando. Conference details and online registration are available at www.RealEstate.UFL.edu.