Fisher students, faculty recognized as Anderson Scholars

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Twelve students from the Fisher School of Accounting as well as Fisher professors Christopher Falk and Marcus Kirk were recognized as 2014 Anderson Scholars by the University of Florida’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

The Anderson Scholars recognize outstanding academic achievements by undergraduates in their first two years of enrollment. The award reflects the historical role of the College in educating students during their first two years at UF, and is open to all UF students, regardless of college.

The Fisher School’s 2014 Anderson Scholars are: Vanessa Colchado, Kara Conley, Hanna Kivisto, Jessica Kopel, Brooke Lynch, Sarah Martinez, Ryan Muchnick, Christian Perea, Sallie Stern, Patrick Sweeney, Suzanne Trick and Nhi Truong.

Falk, a lecturer, and Kirk, the Luciano Prida Sr. Term Assistant Professor, were selected as Anderson Scholar faculty honorees by students for their inspiration and influence.

The award is named for James N. Anderson, who served as the first Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences (1910-1930), after whom Anderson Hall is named. This award is the highest recognition bestowed on students for their first two years of coursework, and is a true mark of academic distinction for UF students.

To qualify as an Anderson Scholar, students must have completed at least 60 hours toward a UF undergraduate degree, must have at least a 3.90 GPA on or after Aug. 15 of the year of the Convocation ceremony, and must have been full-time students for four consecutive semesters at UF without any drops or withdrawals.