Fisher School of Accounting students holding awards.

2023 MAcc Student of the Year, other outstanding students named at banquet

Alexia Byrd

Alexia Byrd (MAcc ’23) was named the Chrislynn Freed Master of Accounting Outstanding Student of the Year at the Fisher School of Accounting Spring Awards Banquet on April 20 at the Hilton University of Florida Conference Center. The award is selected by the faculty and is the highest honor awarded to a Fisher student.

“I am incredibly honored to have been chosen to receive the Chrislynn Freed Outstanding Master Student of the Year Award among so many deserving and hard-working students,” Byrd said. “Having sat next to some of the brightest individuals every day in my classes makes receiving this award even more humbling. I am so proud to join the intelligent individuals who have received this award before me and to be honored in the name of such an accomplished woman.”

Following graduation this spring, Byrd intends to start her career at Alvarez & Marsal, joining their Corporate Transformation Tax team in Atlanta.

“I would not have been able to succeed in this program without the amazing classmates, professors and family who have brought me to this point in my academic journey,” she said. “Although receiving this award marks the end of my time at UF, the support that I have received from the Fisher School of Accounting will stay with me throughout my career.”

The Fisher School also recognized a number of other students for their accomplishments. The complete list of winners is below.

Scholarships and Fellowships

Fisher MACC Fellowship

Hallie Neal
Zachary Weiner

William E. Crown, Jr. Fellowship

Isabella Adler
Rachel Lalgie
Andrea Rogale

Don Miller 5th Year Accounting Scholarship

Jake Bruce

Batson-Siegel Accounting Scholarship

Yuan Tian

FSOA Commemorative Gallery Fund Fellowship

Siyu Cai

Ralph W. Miller Scholarship

Jupiter Jones
Gabrielle Meena
Kathryn Ohme
Jordan Schwartz
Rebecca Watters
Yang Zhao

Robert N. Lowe, Jr. Family Accounting Scholarship

Rachel Glassman
Trevor Piotrowski
Anna Welch

The Barbara Jean Raskin Award for the Advancement of Women in the Accounting Profession

Devan Fischbeck

Jim and Sandy Wadsworth Scholarship

Cade Bhavsar
Jack Cooper
Anh Nguyen
Katherine Resavage
Henry Seawright
Michael Turino

Beth Justice Kendrick Memorial Scholarship

Lydia Griggs

Gerson, Preston and Company, CPA Fellowship

Gregory Smalley
Abigail Toth

Richard E. Darby Accounting Scholarship

Caitlin Andrei
Madelyn Plancarte

Sharon and David Apseloff Accounting Scholarship

Dalton Haire

Kevin Michael and Sandra Mann Davis Family Scholarship

Elena Peters


J. Michael Cook Student Leadership Award

Beta Alpha Psi, President
Yang Zhao

Ed Triplett Student Leadership Award

National Association of Black Accountants, President
Jasmine Crockett

Florida Students of Accounting Council, President
Katy Nguyen

Chrislynn Freed Master of Accounting Outstanding Student of the Year

Alexia Byrd

J. Michael Cook Excellence in Teaching Award

Scott Rane