Dr. Larry DiMatteo

Management professor to appear at noted international lecture series, co-chair symposium

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Huber Hurst Professor Dr. Larry DiMatteo will present the honorary 2016-17 Dieter Heremans Fund Lecture Series in Law & Economics at the University of Leuven (KU Leuven) on March 2, 2017, in Leuven, Belgium.

The “Heremans Lectures” is an annual series of lectures that hosts some of the world’s top scholars in the field of economic analysis of law. The lecture series was endowed by Professor Dirk Heremans, a founding father of economic analysis of law in Belgium, in memory of his late son.

Dr. DiMatteo will also serve as Co-Chair of a symposium hosted by the George Washington University Law Review on Nov. 19. The symposium is entitled “Divergence and Reform in the Common Law of Contracts.”

Dr. DiMatteo, a professor in Warrington’s Department of Management, has written on numerous topics including legal evolution and contract theory, use of empirical analysis to understand the law and law reform, and the growth of global, international sales law. He is the author or co-author of more than 100 publications, including 10 books and more than 40 law review articles.

Dr. DiMatteo has been awarded a Fulbright Professorship at Sofia University and the Academy of Science in Sofia, Bulgaria, and was a Leverhulme Trust Visiting Professor at Leicester University in the United Kingdom. He is the former Editor-in-Chief of the American Business Law Journal, and a Special Issue Editor of the Journal of International Trade Law & Policy.

Dr. DiMatteo has been recognized at the college and university levels on numerous occasions. He received UF’s Teacher/Scholar of the Year Award for 2011-12, and is a two-time recipient of the College’s Graduate Teaching Award (2010-11, 2013-14).

Dr. DiMatteo received two bachelor’s degrees from the University at Buffalo, where he was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa. He earned his Juris Doctorate from Cornell University, Masters of Law from Harvard University, and his Ph.D. from Monash University (Australia).