ABSAP Conference attendees pose for a photo at the University of Florida Warrington College of Business

Warrington College of Business at University of Florida Hosts Alumni Relations Professionals from Top 30 B-Schools

Gainesville, Fla. – The University of Florida’s Warrington College of Business is hosting the 18th annual conference for the Association of Business School Alumni Professionals (ABSAP), July 23-26.

ABSAP membership is limited to the top 30 full-time MBA and undergraduate business programs as defined by Bloomberg Businessweek and U.S. News & World Report respectively.

Over 65 alumni relations professionals from 30 U.S. business schools are attending this year’s conference. Participants are experiencing three days of professional and social events in a collaborative environment, where exchanging ideas and sharing successes and failures enable attendees to learn from others, benchmark peer schools, brainstorm ideas and grow professionally.

“We are pleased to host this important conference at UF Warrington,” said Dean John Kraft of the Warrington College of Business. “The college regularly convenes faculty and staff from top universities around the world to facilitate discussions about the best practices in business education. This impressive group of business school alumni professionals performs mission critical work that enables their institutions to add value to the business community and society.”

Katharine Burks, Assistant Director, Alumni Engagement, at the Warrington College of Business added, “This conference is unique as it addresses the specific challenges faced by alumni professionals at the leading business schools.”

The ABSAP annual award winners for this year’s conference are:

Most Innovative Initiative Award

  • Alumni Voice Panel Initiative, Wisconsin School of Business, University of Wisconsin–Madison

Most Improved Alumni Relations Initiative Award

  • Back to Class Initiative, P. Carey School of Business, Arizona State University

Outstanding Partnership Award 

  • Smith on the Road Featuring Dingman Bootstrapped, Robert H. Smith School of Business, University of Maryland

Outstanding New Professional Award (2 awards)

  • Kyle Rowland, Jones Graduate School of Business, Rice University
  • Ashley Durham, Tippie College of Business, The University of Iowa

Outstanding Service to ABSAP Award

  • Katie Thomasson, Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

“It is impressive to see the level of collaboration among the participating schools and to see the innovative approaches being used to engage alumni with one another and their schools,” said John Sengenberger, Executive Director of Alumni Relations at the Tepper School of Business at Carnegie Mellon University and the current President and Chair of the ABSAP Board of Directors.

For more information, contact Allison Alsup, Public Relations Specialist, at allison.alsup@warrington.ufl.edu.



Founded in 2001, the Association of Business School Alumni Professionals (ABSAP) member schools are comprised of the top 30 business schools in the U.S. with professionals dedicated to providing excellence in alumni relations and service to alumni. These schools have alumni who are world leaders, Fortune 500 CEOs, entrepreneurs and savvy professionals who are changing the landscape of business. Membership in ABSAP is limited to the top 30 full-time MBA and undergraduate business programs (as defined by Bloomberg Businessweek and U.S. News & World Report respectively).