Students walk in front of Gerson Hall on a sunny day

Fisher School celebrates students and faculty

Each year, the Fisher School of Accounting honors students and faculty at its Spring Awards Banquet.  However, due to COVID-19, there was no in-person ceremony. Instead, award winners were notified and were mailed certificates and/or plaques depending on the award. In addition, an awards program was provided to award recipients, Advisory Board members, donors, faculty/staff, the executive boards of FSOA Council and Beta Alpha Psi, and FSOAC Gold Members.

Rebecca Witschel was named the Chrislynn Freed Master of Accounting Outstanding Student of the Year by the Fisher School of Accounting.

The award is selected by faculty and is the highest honor awarded to a Fisher student.

Q: What does it mean to you to win the Chrislynn Freed Master of Accounting Outstanding Student of the Year award?

Witschel: “I am still in disbelief at the news. I am incredibly honored to be this year’s recipient among so many inspiring students and friends in the Fisher School I have met and gotten to know over the last five years. I am so thankful for all the experiences, resources, and knowledge our professors have given us throughout our time at UF.”

Q: What are your plans after graduation?

Witschel: “Although I am sad my time at UF is coming to an end, I am excited for what is to come next. I plan on moving back up closer to home to work for PwC in New York City in the Capital Markets and Accounting Advisory Services group.”

Q: How has your experience in the Master of Accounting program prepared you for your future?

Witschel: “The difficult courses throughout the program have challenged me in ways I could never have anticipated coming into college. The technical knowledge, support and guidance from our professors, and knowing that there is a strong community of Gators out there, make me feel confident moving on to this next phase of life.”

The Fisher School also recognized a number of other students for their accomplishments.

Scholarships and Fellowships

Fisher MACC Fellowship

Julia Sigman

Batson-Siegel Accounting Scholarship

Catherine Weng

William E. Crown, Jr. Fellowship

Cameron Hinton

Julie Sun

Jackson Weisbrot

Sharon and David Apseloff Accounting Scholarship

Maris Silvestri

Gerson, Preston and Company, CPA Fellowship

Corinne Petlick

Michael Rosen

FSOA Commemorative Gallery Fund Fellowship

Paige Bruman

Gabriela Harmon

Ralph W. Miller Scholarship

Sofia Gomez

Gabrielle Schwartz

Kevin Michael and Sandra Mann Davis Family Scholarship

Emily Sherwood

Richard E. Darby Accounting Scholarship

James Duckworth

Jim and Sandy Wadsworth Scholarship

Kaylee Davis

Bailey Higgins

Megan Tonko

Joseph Lumia Memorial Fellowship

Lyubomir Gospodinov

Robert N. Lowe, Jr. Family Accounting Scholarship

Thomas Murphy

Demetra Patterson

Charles Michael Turner

Don Miller 5th Year Accounting Scholarship

Samantha Scott

Price Maxwell Cleveland Graduate Student Fellowship

Hope Dougherty

The Barbara Jean Raskin Award for the Advancement of Women in the Accounting Profession

Contessa Hutchins


Michael Cook Student Leadership Award

Beta Alpha Psi, President, Charles Michael Turner

Ed Triplett Student Leadership Award

FSOA Student Council, President, Hunter VanScoy

Chrislynn Freed Master of Accounting Outstanding Student of the Year

Rebecca Witschel

Michael Cook Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr. Michael Schadewald