Dr. Chris Janiszewski

Chris Janiszewski named an Association for Consumer Research Fellow

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Dr. Chris Janiszewski, Russell Berrie Eminent Scholar Chair in the Department of Marketing at the University of Florida Warrington College of Business, has been named a fellow of the Association for Consumer Research. He will be recognized and will present a Fellows Address at the 2019 Association for Consumer Research Conference in Atlanta.

The Association for Consumer Research (ACR) Fellows award recognizes the career contributions of ACR individuals during their lifetime for “significant impact on scholarly work in consumer behavior.”

“Being named a Fellow is exciting for two reasons. First, it is a very selective group. Only 36 Fellows have been named since 1980,” Dr. Janiszewski said. “Second, I take pride the fact that we have more ACR Fellows on our faculty than any other school.”

Dr. Janiszewski’s colleagues Joseph Alba and Richard Lutz are also Fellows.

The ACR seeks to advance consumer research and facilitate the exchange of scholarly information among members of academia, industry and government worldwide. One of ACR’s key functions is to facilitate the growth and advancement of the field of consumer research. It was founded in 1969 by a small group of consumer behavior researchers whose informal meeting at the Ohio State University led to the vision of a yearly conference devoted to the study of consumer behavior.

Dr. Janiszewski, who has been a professor at Warrington since 1987, teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in consumer behavior, marketing management and marketing research. He has published numerous articles and book chapters. Dr. Janiszewski’s research areas include price perception, branding, consumer learning, goal pursuit and perceived value.

He has served on a number of editorial review boards including the Journal of Consumer Research, Journal of Marketing Research, Journal of Marketing, Journal of Consumer Psychology, Marketing LettersandMarketing Science. In addition to receiving the Journal of Consumer ResearchBest Reviewer Award four times, he has also received the Journal of Marketing MSI/Paul Root Award and the University of Florida Teacher of the Year Award.